Expecting Rain

Go to main page
It is currently Sun January 21st, 2018, 04:18 GMT

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri December 29th, 2017, 18:13 GMT 
Senior Moderator

I might as well start a new thread on this rather than revive some old thread.

Does anyone know how the copyright/publishing works with Bob's lyrics?
What I mean is, I'm actually working on a new Dylan lyrics site*,
am I allowed to publish this online? There are many lyric sites around the web,
so I thought maybe this was something you're able to do without getting sued or in trouble.

* I'm just beginning to work on it and it's far from finish,
but here's a little look at how it might turn out.
https://youtu.be/hLIqjdbAw9c
I was planning on making it the biggest archive ever,
with every single song/take/version available.

PostPosted: Fri December 29th, 2017, 18:40 GMT 

I don't know the answer to the permissions question, but I like the idea and simple layout.
The video looks like a great, usable site.

With BD.com willfully inaccurate and many scattered webpages with bits here and there, it would be nice to have one home. It will be the alternate takes, unofficial versions that will compel me to click. How will you handle the undecipherables like "I'm Not There" or Glasgow Hotel songs? I look forward to checking...

What a headache though....you have your work cut out for you in '18

PostPosted: Fri December 29th, 2017, 18:59 GMT 

This looks really good. I love the look of it and I would bookmark and use this regularly.

But I have no answers to the questions you ask.

I hope this comes to fruition!

PostPosted: Fri December 29th, 2017, 20:05 GMT 

Congrats, it looks very good.

I also don't have legal info for you with regard to publishing lyrics online.